The Citadel

The Military College of South Carolina


Wideman Scholarship

Colonel Samuel Adam Wideman
and Jane Allan
Wideman Scholastic Awards

These awards are endowed by the Wideman family in honor of Samuel Adam and Jane Allan Wideman. Professor Sam Wideman, Class of 1929, and his wife Jane were respected members of The Citadel community. Professor Wideman was distinguished for his scholarship in Chemistry and high academic standards and his wife Jane was beloved by cadets and family. Sam Wideman was a Citadel graduate, Chemistry professor, and the fourth Head of the Chemistry Department.


Colonel Samuel Adam Wideman and Jane Allan Wideman Scholarship

This scholarship will provide the successful applicant with a total of $20,000.00 toward their tuition over a four-year period. The initial award for the freshman year is $5,000.00. As long as the recipient remains a Chemistry major with a 3.0 grade point average, the scholarship is renewable for $4,000.00 per year for the remaining three years.

Application Form


Class Recipient Class Recipient
2003 Michael B Ellisor
2005 Adrian Ybarr
2006 Anyanime Edem
2007 Cody Sandquist
2008 Jonathan Olson
2009 Robert Clark
2010 William D. Jensen
2011 Kyle Page

Colonel Samuel Adam Wideman and Jane Allan Wideman Fellowship

The fellowship is for a Citadel student to work on a research project with a faculty member of the Department of Chemistry for a ten-week period in the summer.

To be considered for this award, the applicant must meet the following criteria:

    • Be a Citadel student.
    • Work on a research problem posed by a member of the Department of Chemistry faculty for a 10 week period. (Summer Sessions I and II)
    • Submit a brief outline of the research project including a brief statement by the faculty member who will be serving as the research advisor. (An application for the Medbery Research Mentor Award can be used as the advisor's statement)

This package should be submitted to the Head of the Department of Chemistry by the date provided each year.


Year Recipient Year Recipient
2002 Michael B Ellisor
2003 Sermpun Lhamlhak
2005 Anyanime Edem
2011 Frederick Shriner
Joshua Edwards
John Jordan

Back to Top